Reprinted from Newsletter 119, dated 2006 June

Chairman’s notes John Brunsdon

The Local Development Framework (LDF) is at its consultative stage towards establishing what amounts to the Local Plan for the next 20 years. Taken stage by stage, it will need to be accepted as “sound”. Challengers will have to prove the plan “unsound”.

  Already it appears that Glastonbury is “developed out”, and after the completion of the two estates to the east of the town there may be no further major development. Future housing needs may have to be met in Street.

  Now is your opportunity to put ideas forward as to how the town should develop. A study of the existing Mendip-wide plan will reveal the present development area. Some members of the public were surprised to find land alongside Roman Way on the lower slope of Wearyall had been included since the 1960s. Remaining Glastonbury land is either of high amenity value or near the flood plain and may never be built over.

  The Environment Agency’s revised map showing the once-in-100-years floodplain includes all of the Morlands site and much other land already built over. It is a sobering thought that the tsunami of 1607 reached St Benedict’s Church.

  Baker Associates, a specialist planning consultancy firm, is advising Mendip council.

  William Stansell awards: The Somerset Building Preservation Trust has informed the town clerk that the restoration of the Betrothal Couple medieval corbals and the 19th-century Market Cross have been shortlisted for conservation awards. Inspection is on June 20.

  Frome landmarks: Frome Festival is celebrating 25 years of grant aid for historic buildings in Frome. As vice-chair of Mendip council, I shall chair an invitation-only event on July 16 to launch a celebratory publication. There will be presentations by Kevin McCloud and Bob Ladd.

Officers for 2006

chairman     John Brunsdon   83 1283

vice-chairman      Ian Rands   85 0509

treasurer          Dennis Allen   83 2214

secretary       Janet Morland   83 5238

committee   Ena Allen, Neill Bonham, Roy Coles, Alan Fear, Bill Knight, Adrian Pearse, Nathan Pritchard, Neil Stevenson, Anthony Ward, Martyn Webb.

Website first published in 2005. This 2018–19 revamp uses simple CSS and PHP (no Javascript or cookies)   Jim NagelAbbey Press logo